West Pokot County Assembly is the legislative arm of the West Pokot County Government established under the constitution and the County Governments Act, 2012.
According to Article 177 (1) of the Constitution a County Assembly consists of (a) members elected by the registered voters of the wards, each ward constituting a single member constituency; (b) the number of special seat members necessary to ensure that no more than two thirds of the membership of the assembly are of the same gender; (c) the number of members of marginalized groups, including persons with disabilities and the youth; and (d) the Speaker, who is an ex officio Member. The Members contemplated in clause (b) and (c) are nominated by political parties in proportion to the seats held by the political parties represented in the Assembly. In line with the above Constitutional requirements, West Pokot County

Assembly consists of the Speaker, 20 elected Members and 12 Nominated Members (Making a total of 32 Members and Speaker).
Section 8 of the County Governments Act stipulates the role of the County Assembly as follows -
“(1) The county assembly shall— 
(a) Vet and approve nominees for appointment to county public offices as may be provided for in this Act or any other law;
 (b) Perform the roles set out under Article 185 of the Constitution;
 (c) Approve the budget and expenditure of the county government in accordance with Article 207 of the Constitution, and the legislation contemplated in Article 220(2) of the Constitution, guided by Articles 201 and 203 of the Constitution; 
(d) Approve the borrowing by the county government in accordance with Article 212 of the Constitution;
  (e) Approve county development planning; and
 (f) Perform any other role as may be set out under the Constitution or legislation.”

Geographical location

The West Pokot County Assembly is located in the former County Council premises (at the Kapenguria township headquarters of West Pokot County). Kapenguria is about 36km away from Kitale Town along the Eldoret – Lodwar – Lokichogio Road. It is also about 450km North West of Nairobi City.


County Governments Act

House Business


Important Sites




The Vision, Mission and Core Mandate/Values

Important Documents